What is the Purpose of the APRN Consensus Model?

APRN Consensus Model serves to help the states to define and regulated the Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (APRN) role.

The Model is developed by the National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN) and accepted by many states.

However, there are still more or less significant differences from state to state in the number of adopted sections of the Model.

It is why it is important for any APRN who wish to relocate to another state to understand the version of the model applied in the new state.

Let’s answer briefly frequently asked questions on the APRN Consensus Model.

What is the APRN Definition by the APRN Consensus Model?

According to the APRN Consensus Model, APRN is a registered nurse who has completed steps such as finishing an accredited graduate degree program in one of the four roles approved.

A registered nurse also needs to pass a national certification exam and to earn a license.

The four approved roles by APRN Consensus Model are Certified Nurse Midwife (CNM), Certified Nurse Specialist (CNS), Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist (CRNA), and Certified Nurse Practitioner (NP).

How are Specialized Nurse Practitioners Defined by the Model?

According to the APRN Consensus Model, Nurse practitioners such as Family NP, Psychiatric NP, Adult/Gerontology NP, and others are Advance-practice registered nurses that have a focus on a specific population.

The other population foci roles are Pediatric NP, Women’s Health NP, Neonatal NP, etc.

How does the APRN Consensus Model Define other Specialty Roles?

There are also optional specialties beyond APRN roles.

Those include oncology, palliative care, and other roles.

Still, APRNs earn their license by their primary role and population focus.

Thefero, a Family Nurse Practitioner can specialize in elder care.

There are more specialties evolving as the nursing discipline is changing toward meeting the specific needs of the patient.

Also, getting certification in any of the specialty is highly recommended for all APRNs.

Who is an APRN?

Only registered nurses who obtained their MSN or DNP degree in one of the four mentioned roles (NP, CNM, CNS, CRNA) are APRNs, according to consensus.

Other registered nurses who have graduate degrees in any of the non-patient-facing roles, for example, health care administration, aren’t APRNs.

In Which State is the APRN Consensus Model Adopted?

The NCSBN has created a map where you can find more information on states and their Model application.

For example, states such as Montana, Wyoming, Idaho, Oregon, Vermont, New Mexico, and others have fully accepted the Model.

Alabama, New York, Tennesee are among states that have the least percent of APRN Consensus model utilization.

Colorado, Kansas, Illinois, California have implemented the Model partially in their nursing practice.

How can you get information on the APRN Consensus Model for the State in Which you are Moving?

The NCSBN advises APRNs who want to relocate to another state to pay attention to several aspects.

First, of all APRN need to find out whether he or she meets all requirements for practice in the new state.

Next, moving APRNs need to check if they hold appropriate certification to start working in the new state.

Lastly, APRN should check how compatible his training is with nursing training in the new state.

To resolve any misunderstandings, NCSBN created a useful toolkit that holds all useful information for moving APRNs.

Related Quetions

Leave a Comment

Find a Program